Diverse Origins Pt.3 – Analysis

Explain the process behind your artpiece. How did you narrow down the images you chose to use? How did you come to the decisions you did in regards to the images you chose to use, the colours, layout and other elements and principles of design.

For my art piece, I didn’t choose what images to use from the existing ones that I’ve found on the internet and my photographs, because all of the images I’ve used are newly made by me from 3D applications like Blender and Maya. Based on my knowledge and understanding of Maya, I’ve created all the images and learned new things like Maya’s nCloth dynamics (cloth simulation), dynamic force field and wireframe render during the flag creation.

I wanted the image to have two bright sides and one darker panel in the center, to furthermore enhance this and to show my passion for 3D, I’ve made the man and the DNA from the center panel pop out of its panel and the side panels tilted at a perspective to create a feel that the panels are floating in 3D space.

The colors from the side panels are very bright and have similar colors in them. The brightness is also used to contrast and illuminate the center piece. My choice of color has brought balance to the art piece. The DNA across the page “links” the three pieces together and also brings direction for the eye to follow onto the page. Generally, the entire piece is a fairly well balanced piece as the panels are placed very neatly with equal spacing between them which just makes the piece look roomy and spacious.

What do you think worked in your art piece? Why do you think it worked? What would you change if you could? Overall how successful do you think your art work is at representing yourself? Explain your answers.

            The fact that all of the elements used in my piece are all self-made, not taken from the internet or any other sources, made this piece “work”. Spending time making these images inside a 3D application brings a lot more value to this art piece because it involves a lot more technical skills and the images that came out of it are truly unique and cannot be found anywhere else. Also, that “made the entire thing from scratch” feeling just gave it more value and it definitely represents me and my skills in the process.

If I had a second chance to do this project, I would definitely include elements showing that I’m a metalhead because metal music have played a significant role in my life as it holds accountable for my long hair and my style of dressing.

I would say that my artwork represented myself fairly well in: The two flags represent my ethnicity as I was born in China and raised in Canada. The rocks represent where my parents were born and grew up as well as where most of my relative lives, in the countryside where it is on a mountain. The left panel has a Canadian flag and two trees and grass against each other. Canada is where I grew up so, the trees and the grass represent the beautiful nature in Canada which I admire the most since I came back from China. All of the flags have wireframe on them which is symbolic for 3D. In the center, the model of the man is made in Maya and it also has a wireframe over it. I purposely used a low-polygon model instead of a high-polygon model because low-polygon models are more representative to 3D modeling. Finally the DNA strands represent my passion for science as each nucleotide is made up of a famous science equation, E=mc^2 and F=ma. There are strong anamorphic lens flares on the DNA to give it a more futuristic and clean look to further represent my passion for science and technology.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment